Skip to main content

Church Officers

At Milford Presbyterian Church, there are two kinds of church officers: ruling elders and deacons.

Ruling Elders

Elders are the foundation of the Presbyterian Church’s form of government (the word “Presbyterian” comes from the Greek word for “elder”). Elders are chosen by the people and are installed to terms of service on the session, the church’s governing body.

Ruling elders, together with teaching elders, exercise leadership, government,spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church (Book of Order, G-2.0301).

Class of 2024 Class of 2025 Class of 2026
Dave Luoma Christin Bracken Judy Bogacki
Kelly Holloway Jennifer Ginther Kathy Donn
Betsy Phillips Dan Lafferty Nellie Cory
Lee Vandenbussche Sarah Collins Carolyn Gatesman
Greg Wahowiak Al Young Janine Smoker


The word “deacon” comes form the Greek word for “servant,” and from the very beginning of the Christian church, certain people have been set apart by the church as deacons to minister to those who are in need, both within and beyond the church.

The ministry of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress (Book of Order, G-2.0201).

Class of 2024 Class of 2025 Class of 2026
Roger Brooks Sandy Cole Trisha Addy
Suzanne Jarasz Barb Klein Carrie Rustad
Mary McFarland Joan Moore Carol Smith