banner building

banner building narrow

At Milford Presbyterian Church, there are two kinds of church officers: ruling elders and deacons.

Ruling Elders

Elders are the foundation of the Presbyterian Church's form of government (the word "Presbyterian" comes from the Greek word for "elder"). Elders are chosen by the people and are installed to terms of service on the session, the church's governing body.

Ruling elders, together with teaching elders, exercise leadership, government,spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church (Book of Order, G-2.0301).

Class of 2019 Class of 2020 Class of 2021
Beth Burgess Ron Johnson David Baldwin
Kristin Connolly Sandi Muirhead Sandra Cole
Leslie Nave Marlene Neff Betsy Phillips
Andrea Perry Bob Parrett Barb Strnad
David Williams Rhett Rowe Greg Wahowiak



The word "deacon" comes form the Greek word for "servant," and from the very beginning of the Christian church, certain people have been set apart by the church as deacons to minister to those who are in need, both within and beyond the church.

The ministry of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress (Book of Order, G-2.0201).

Class of 2019 Class of 2020 Class of 2021
Marilyn Burklund Kelly Carey Amber Innis
Kathy Donn Judy Kleeves Mary McFarland
Nora Gilbert Roxanne Young Judy Nelson